2014 Christmas decoration haul

It’s no secret that I love Christmas. It’s also no secret that every year I go mad buying decorations. I don’t need any more. I don’t even really want any more, but you know…they just kind of find their way into my home somehow.

Last year I was all about red. And after a brief flirtation with the idea of having neon pink, this year I’ve actually settled with a palette of mixed metallics – gold, silver, white, grey and, my latest obsession, copper. Ultimately, I’d love to build up a proper decoration collection – something I can use every year, just adding the odd trinket to (this will never happen FYI, but you know, it’s good to have goals). And while I’m aware that by this time next year I’ll be coveting something completely different for now, at least, I’m really happy with my 2014 selection.

So without further ado, here’s what I’ve bought in and where I bought it…

knitted-advent-calendar

metallic-baubles

rustic-wooden-letters

rustic-wooden-stars

hema-christmas-decorations

1. So the first item is a bit of a cop out in terms of buying. My mum is an ace knitter – I don’t even know how she does it – and every year she knits us something at Christmas time. Last year we got cushion covers, but this year? Well this year she went above and beyond, knitting us this amazing advent calendar. I can’t wait to use this every single year, especially when children come along one day and we can fill it with all sorts of fun treats 🙂

2. I bought these tiny baubles on a whim. I was on the Paperchase website searching for a diary and ended up with £25 worth of un-diary related products. Obviously. You should know that these baubles are tiny though; so small, in fact, that I didn’t end up putting them on my tree. But I did do something pretty awesome with them that you can see here. The larger ones on the right are all from B&Q, and were all 99p. FYI, B&Q has really come up in my estimations this year with regards to Christmas – well worth a look if you’ve exhausted every other avenue in the hunt for decorations!

3. So I really wanted some of Anthropologie’s rustic wooden letters for my tree. But I REALLY didn’t want to spend £6 per letter. Cue a desperate eBay hunt, where I tracked these beauties down for a mere 99p each. To make them a bit more unique, I dug out a favourite Christmas staple of mine – metallic twine – and wrapped it around each letter a few times, alternating between silver and gold.

4. What is Christmas without several hundred thousand stars around the house? These wooden stars came home with me during a routine food shop at Sainsburys. I can’t remember exactly how much they were, but know they were on offer at the time and were around £5 (ish) for the pair. The small fabric stars are from an independent shop in Rye called Concepts. It’s basically my Mecca and if I’m ever missing, that’s where I’m to be found. These were £2 each.

5. One word: HEMA. Have you checked it out yet? I discovered Hema one lunchtime, when I was idly browsing Twitter, and I haven’t looked back since. In fact, I have to actually limit myself to going on the website once a week, such is my newfound love for it. If you haven’t heard of it yet then I apologise; your life (and bank balance) may never be the same again. All of these decorations came from Hema – the gold sequin baubles were £1.99 each, the pack of paper stars were £1.50 and the stamps were £2.50. Oh, and did I mention they send you caramel waffles FREE with every order?!

2 thoughts on “2014 Christmas decoration haul

  1. My favourite is the knitted advent calendar – I’m so disappointed I can’t get one for myself! Would your Mum consider opening an Etsy shop??! Also I totally agree about B&Q – such a surprise! And their January sales are AMAZING for Christmas decorations. They reduce them all to about 10p! We stocked up one year – I even used some as gift tags the next year.

    -Rachel ¦¦ A Nesting Nomad

    • Ahh thank you Rachel – my Mum’s had so much interest in the advent calendars that she’s now going to make a load up for next Christmas in a variety of colours and start selling them online. I’ll make sure to advertise when and where she’s selling! I loved B&Q this year, it was so good – and totally agree; the January sales are the best time to shop for decorations, I always try and hit the shops between Christmas and New Year to stock up! x

Leave a Reply

