Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Butter

body shop camomile cleansing butter

 

It’s not often, these days, that I’m really wowed by beauty products. I’ve worked in and around beauty for so long now that I’ve come to know what I like and what works for me. But that’s not to say I don’t still enjoy testing stuff out. Coz that would be a lie. If I had a pound for every time I went into Boots to buy one thing and came out with ten other things I didn’t need then well…I’d have a lot more money to buy a lot more things I didn’t need.

Any way, I digress. A few months ago I begrudgingly signed up to yet another beauty box. I say begrudgingly because it really was. I was at the point where I was completely done with the whole beauty box thing. Having tried so many in the past and cancelling them after 6 months of disappointment (not to mention arguments with the postman about leaving them somewhere that was a) not on my doorstep in broad daylight and b) not in my ACTUAL rubbish bin) I swore I’d never sign up to another. Ever. Well, that all went out the window last Christmas when I decided that a chocolate advent calendar just wouldn’t be enough any more, and I really, really needed wanted the You Beauty Advent Calendar. 25 treats for £50 was just too much of a bargain for me and I signed straight up. Except, as with all things that seems too good to be true, there was a catch. A rather mighty catch; in order to get the advent calendar, I had to first pay £6.95 to become a You Beauty member. I was livid, I won’t lie – I absolutely hate it when companies throw a catch like that in when you GET TO THE CHECKOUT. However, I read on and discovered that if I continued my membership each month, then for that little sum of £6.95 I would get to choose 2 beauty products each month. In a box. With some extra treats. So essentially, it’s a beauty box. And I nearly stopped there, to be honest. But what stood out about this box, for me was that a) there were no P&P charges, b) I got to choose the beauty products I wanted and c) there would always be a couple of extra treats thrown in the box too.

Sold. It was as easy as that. And I have to say, I’ve not been disappointed by it one little bit. I love the fact that I get to choose what I want each month (great for months when you’ve run out of mascara and spent all your wages on prosecco and, um, daffodils, it turns out) which also means I can check the sizes of the products and the price against what’s in store and actually nab myself some real bargains.

Take this month for example. Obviously I put the Crabtree & Evelyn rosewater hand cream straight in the basket (nice packaging, good scent but not the best for moisturising, FYI) and for my second treat I went slightly off tangent. I’ll always choose a make up product over skin care, mostly because I don’t like messing with my skin too much and also because the samples are never that big. However, this month I spied the Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Butter – and it was FULL SIZE. That meant that for nearly £7 I was getting a hand cream and a full sized skin care product. So in it went.

And you know what? I’m really impressed. I’d read a bit about this on some other beauty blogs a little while ago and earmarked it for a future purchase that never happened (prosecco and daffs people, that’s what Spring is made of) so I was eager to see if it would be as good as people were saying. It’s a bit strange to get your head around at first – most cleansers I’ve ever used have been cream or gel, so this is completely different – but I really like it. You only need a tiny amount, rub all over your face then wash off with the muslin cloth and some hot water. Not only did it make my skin lovely and soft afterwards, but it’s also really cleared it up as well. This could be a massive coincidence, but I really have had less spots since using this, which makes me think that perhaps the cream cleansers I’ve been using are far too heavy for my skin. Interesting.

I’ll definitely be re-purchasing this again when it’s all gone, and for £12.50 it’s much cheaper and more effective than quite a few other hot cloth cleansers on the market.

Oh, and anyone who’s looking for a new beauty box to try? Definitely give You Beauty a try. Not only did I get some free tea bags this month, but I also got a set of tweezers from the Vintage Cosmetics Company. These have since been commandeered by Mr. B (for what I do not nor need to know since I’m not allowed anywhere near his eyebrows. God knows I’ve tried often enough), so there’s something in there to please everyone in the household!

You Beauty Discovery Box, March 2014

Leave a Reply

