How to find your wedding suppliers

After the novelty of being engaged starts to fade (which, FYI, never actually happened to me. I still milk that one now), the reality is you’ll have a wedding to plan. And yes, that’s mega exciting, but it’s also actually kind of scary too.

You see, it’s one thing to sit and think about getting married, but actually planning it, well…that’s a whole other thing. And it can be quite daunting. Finding suppliers that not only you want on the date you want them (and you have to get in there quick people, I learnt that the hard way) but that you click with and who get your vision for the day is a long and time consuming process.

I was lucky enough that I was able to gain a majority of my suppliers through good old fashioned word of mouth. Having been to and seen so many weddings prior to mine, I already had a good idea of who I would contact when the time came. But if I hadn’t, then I’m not so sure it would have been that easy; I was working 3 jobs at the time I was planning my wedding and any spare time I had was seriously limited, meaning I had to make decisions quickly and rely on my gut instinct A LOT. Luckily, it all worked out pretty well for me and I can honestly say I was impressed with every single supplier I chose, many of whom surpassed themselves and went the extra mile to make our day so special.

So where am I going with this? Well, during that time of all work, no play and a whole lot of wedding planning, life would have been a million times easier had I been able to visit one website that listed all the wedding suppliers I was after in my area. There was no such thing back then. But now? Well now all East Sussex brides can breathe a sigh of relief – if you’re as pushed for time in planning your wedding as I was mine then all you need to do is visit this little gem of a website.

Weddings in Brighton

Images copyright of Ashdown Wedding Photography

Brighton Bandstand Weddings offers a comprehensive list of wedding suppliers in East Sussex, as well as information on wedding fairs, inspirational blog posts and lots of advice on how to go about choosing the right supplier for you.

Started by Mike Ashdown of Ashdown Wedding Photography – who spotted this gap in the market for a comprehensive supplier search – the site currently has 14 listed suppliers, ranging from photographers, florists, hair and make up artists, chair hire companies, stylists and caterers, although that list is constantly expanding and evolving.

If you’re wondering where to start with the whole wedding planning process then this is a great place to begin your search, or even to just get an idea of where to begin. If only it had been that easy two years ago!

Leave a Reply

